2015 NDRC Southern Series to hold season finale at BRC

All roads lead to the Batangas Racing Circuit (BRC) this May 9th, as the 2015 National Drag Racing Championship (NDRC) Southern Series holds its 4th and final round.

With championship points at stake, there’ll be no reason to hold back for top racers Jonathan Tiu, Martin Manalo, and Arvin Millet.

A recap of the Quick 8s leader board shows team JCT Blanche’s domination, headed by defending champion Jonathan Tiu with 35pts. Trailing him in 2nd and 3rd are his teammates Jonathan Young with 16pts and Sheldon Chua with 15pts. The Manalo brothers Martin and Mark Joseph score 4th and 5th places with 12pts and 11pts, respectively. If we do the math, Tiu can pretty much cruise towards the line and still win the championship. As for the rest, the battle still is hot with just 15 points up for grabs. But Martin Manalo has something else to celebrate for, as he already bagged the Pro Class championship with his 24pts lead.

Down in the Expert class, Chris Jayson Millet takes a commanding 26pts lead over Anthony Alcala with 16pts and Mark Malibiran with 15pts.

Meanwhile, apart from Sherwin Jay Esguerra’s 25pts lead, it’s still anybody’s game for the Sportsman class’ top 2 and 3 slots. Robert Palermo II and Victor Pe Benito both share 15pts, while an equally-even match is brewing between Darren Ramirez and Rommel Dural, as they both have 10pts.

Finally in the Hot Street Class. 4 drivers battle it out for 3rd place. With 10pts each, Phoebe Ansel Perez, Malvin Alcantara, Eduardo Dela Roca, and Ponpon Jimenez will drag it out for the final championship points. Ahead of them are Marlon Laroza in 2nd place with 15pts and the class leader Cer Olliriz Alcala with 30pts.

The 2015 National Drag Racing Championship is sanctioned by the Automobile Association of the Philippines (AAP) and sponsored by M&H Tires, Sparco, GT Radial, and Aguila Auto Glass.

Registration starts at 6:30 AM followed by the practice runs at 7:00 AM. The qualifiers will then promptly begin at 9:00 AM and competition at 11:00 AM.

Entry fee is P2,000 per driver, plus a P300 day license from AAP and P400 for insurance. Pro Class drivers, however, must secure an AAP National Competition License to join.

For more info or inquiries about the National Drag Racing Championship, please contact BRCI at (02) 729-5365 or 0932-860-4522. Get the latest announcements at www.facebook.com/BatangasRacingCircuit or log on to www.batangasracingcircuit.org.

Latest News

View More Articles

Popular Articles