2015 Phil. GT  season reaches midway, returns to Clark for Round 4

A fierce battle rages on as the 2015 season of the Yokohama Philippine GT Championship reaches the halfway mark this August 30 at the Clark International Speedway (CIS).

This season started out nicely with 10 cars on the grid. That’s all good, but things took a turn for the better after 3 rounds when more drivers eventually joined in, seeing the heated competition brewing. Now, a total of 16 cars will race it out for the win.

Looking at the GT300 leader board, W-Autosport’s Willie Torres tops it with 110 points. He leads by 50 points ahead of 2nd placer Veli-Matti Kaikkonen. Meanwhile, Dondon Portugal scored 3rd in the standings after his season debut victory on Round 3.

Down in the GT200, Richmon Dela Rosa has to keep his guard up with just 44 points separating him from 2nd placer Walter Zamora. Paolo Mantolino, meanwhile, trails close in 3rd place with 109 points.

In the GT150, Patrick Dela Rosa stands with 135 points, followed by Dindo de Jesus in 2nd and NR Joaquin in 3rd.

Lastly, the GT100 score chart sees Ivan Diaz dominating with 180 points coming into the 4th round. A fitting gift as he just turned 19 this month. But, he has to keep gunning it as 2nd placer and defending GT100 champion Edwin Rodriguez is at the ready to take the lead with his New Mazda2 SKYACTIV race car. Sitting in the 3rd is Joginder “King” Sin with 117 points.

Sponsored by Yokohama Tire Sales Philippines (YTSP), the Round 4 of the 2015 Yokohama Philippine GT Championship will go green with a 10-sprint race, followed by a 17-lap GT race, all happening on August 30 at the Clark International Speedway (CIS).

Other support races include the Philminiracers Championship Series, Classic Aspirated Cup, Miata Cup, and the Philippine DTM Revival. There will also be the Sparco Bracket Circuit Racing and Sparco Grid Race that can be entered for a minimal entry fee of P2,500/car. This is inclusive of Free Practice on Saturday and a Time Trial, Bracket Race, and Grid Race on Sunday.

The 2015 Yokohama Philippine GT Championship is sanctioned by the Automobile Association of the Philippines (AAP), sponsored by Yokohama Tires Sales Philippines, Inc., Sparco, and Aguila Auto Glass with support from the official dyno provider, Speedlab.

Latest News

View More Articles

Popular Articles