Round 5 of 2017 FlatOut Race Series

Round 5 of the 2017 FlatOut Race Series (FORS) was held at the Clark International Speedway (CIS). Racers competed in the time attack and grid races under the scorching temperature on track. 

Despite the hot day, Luis Gono of the #887 Motul-Cleanfuel Lotus was able to set the fastest time on the 4.189 km circuit. Eggy Ong of Forced Speed, on the other hand, took a victorious leap in the GT Radial Grid A race.

Time Attack 

18-year old Gono hit 2:03.441 on the clock, which puts him in the 1st place for Bracket R. However, the reigning 1st-placer said that he and his fellow racers can go even faster in a cooler weather. Coming up on his tail for 2nd place is Lance Binamira of the #32 Motolite-sponsored Toyota Corolla AE92 with a time of 2:09.053. Both were followed by Eggy Ong who clocked at 2:09.907.

Meanwhile, #200 W-Autosport / Staging Lanes Honda Civic EG driver Eduardo Suiza claimed the fastest record in Bracket A. He had it at 2:10.212, while Ong grabbed the 2nd place with 2:10.995 on the clock with a fresh set of tires. Crossing the line in 3rd was Rafael la O', who was driving the #1 Auto Magic Honda Civic EK. 

The Bracket B was led by Jero Consing with a 2:16.765 lap time. Andrew de Asis was then able to maintain his lead points after finishing 2nd. De Asis was closely followed by Nicolo Fernandez, who came in 0.046 behind the 2nd placer. 

Kiko De La Rama had the highest spot of the podium after defeating 9 drivers with his lap time of 2:21.151. He was followed by Dax Santiago and Bubi Camus who placed 2nd and 3rd, respectively. Bracket D was claimed by Greg Suing together with 2nd and 3rd placer Ralph Tan and Raymond de Pano. 

For Bracket E, the podiums were filled by Abet Reyes in 1st, Michael Angelo Turing in 2nd, and Bernard Michael Santos in 3rd. Mark Castro win passed Steve Travers and Robert Tan for the Bracket F, while BYD F0-driver Mark Pascual beat the 2nd placer Miguel Narciso in the Bracket G.

Grid Race 

Intense 3-way battle was witnessed in the GT Radial Grid A race as Eduardo Suiza, Eggy Ong, and Rafael la O' battled it out for the win. Ong's less-horsepowered machine (#313 Forced Speed Honda Civic FD) did not pose a problem, as he was able to outrun the 2, who have more powerful cars. Ong finished with a 14.998 sec lead followed by Suiza who also had the fastest lap of 2:10.373 in the race, while la O' got the 3rd spot.

The 2017 Flat Out Race Series (FORS) is sponsored by GT Radial – Philippines, KYB, EPPCO, RECARO, Staging Lanes, Competition Clutch, SmartFuels, Seiken Brake Parts, Works Bell, 602PTG, Brodeth Motorsports, Tuason Racing School, OMP, Angeli Jewelry, Driftmob Works Pilipinas, and Pro Simulation Karera. It's supported by Walter Lights and Sounds, Aeromed, Ninja Performance, Totem Bikes, CTR Suspension Parts, Tes Advertising, and 2ndGen Insurance. 

Media partners include 2NER Magazine, ABS-CBN Sports and Action, AutoCar Philippines,,, C! Magazine, CarGuide.Ph,, Ignition.PH, JamesDeakin.Ph, JDM Underground, Manila Bulletin Drive, Pit Talk Asia, Ride and Drive Philippines, The Score, and Time Attack Manila.

Another Forced Speed driver, Nicolo Fernandez, won in the KYB Grid B race. He and his #350 Honda Civic EG claimed 1st place in the 11-lap race. Blanche Racing's Andrew De Asis reached the checkered flag in 2nd place, while Dominique Bon got the 3rd place. 

Bubi Camus in the BRE x Carmudi Mazda MX-5 had a sweet 1st season competing in FORS, as he claimed his 1st win in the Smart Fuels Grid C race. He beat Jack Saquilayan who finished 2nd. Camus' teammate Polo Bautista was able to get the 3rd place. 

An epic turnout set the Grid D race ablaze with 14 cars on the field. Motorsport Development Program (MSDP) drivers Paolo Santos, Ralph Tan, and Raymond De Pano fought hard toward the flag. However, Tan was given a 120-second penalty after breaking out of his bracket, same as De Pano who also incurred a penalty. This had let Santos and fellow MSDP graduates Bernard Michael Santos and Ron Catindig claim 1st, 2nd and 3rd place, respectively. 

In the Works Bell Grid E race, Robert Tan took the commanding position after besting a full lap. Mark Pascual then followed him on the 2nd spot. 

FORS will hold Round 6 on August 5 back at the Batangas Racing Circuit, where it held its Round 4.

Latest News

View More Articles

Popular Articles