MMDA to close down U-turn slots in EDSA

The Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) revealed its plans to close all existing U-turn slots along EDSA, which ranges from Caloocan City all the way to Pasay City. The agency states that the plan was purposely considered in order to make the carousel bus route more efficient. 

Let’s go through each one, shall we? Starting with the U-turn slots on Monumento Circle up to Balintawak Cloverleaf will all be closed. This enclosure includes the General Tinio U-turn slot, De Jesus Street / 8th Street left-turn slot, and the General Malvar U-turn slot. Unfortunately, all vehicles who wish to cross the southbound lane must make a turn at the Monumento Circle. While in vice-versa, vehicles must then turn at the Balintawak Cloverleaf. As for those coming from NLEX must go straight ahead to A. Bonifacio Avenue, then make a right at C3/Sgt. Rivera.

The following U-turn slots are also bound for closure, including the Balintawak Market U-turn slot, Kaingin Road U-turn slot, Congressional LRT Station U-turn slot, Corregidor intersection/Bansalangin U-turn slots, and the North Avenue U-turn slots. Motorists who often traverse these slots shall then make use of the Balintawak Cloverleaf or Quezon Avenue U-turn.

Going towards southbound, the U-turn slot near Camp Crame will also be closed in the near future. That said, vehicles should therefore make a U-Turn at the service road/intersection of EDSA/Ayala Avenue. Lastly, between Taft Avenue and Roxas Boulevard in Pasay City, U-turn slots are also to be closed down. This includes the P. Celle U-Turn slot and the one before Roxas Boulevard, which is near the Heritage Hotel. As for alternative routes, vehicles coming from northbound must go underneath the Magallanes flyover and make a U-Turn. While those coming from southbound could either take the signalized intersection or MOA Circle.

With the new system about to be set in place, expect heavier traffic than normal as motorists will still need time to adapt to their new routes. The following closures are said to be applied by September 28, 2020. 

Latest News

View More Articles

Popular Articles