NCR and 7 provinces to shift to Alert Level 2 starting February 1

In light of dwindling COVID-19 cases around the country, the National Capital Region and seven provinces will be back under Alert Level 2 beginning February 1, 2022.

According to Malacañang, the provinces joining Metro Manila are Batanes, Bulacan, Cavite, Rizal, Biliran, Southern Leyte, and Basilan. The new alert level designation will be active for two weeks, from February 1 to 15.

On Friday, the Department of Health (DOH) downgraded Metro Manila's COVID-19 classification risk to "moderate." The department recorded a 67-percent decrease in new cases over the previous week, which may have played a role in the government's decision to shift NCR and the other provinces to Alert Level 2.

Commuters residing and working in these areas may also have cause for celebration, as the Department of Transportation (DOTr) recently announced the automatic suspension of its "no vaccine, no ride" policy under Alert Level 2.

DOTr Assistant Secretary Goddes Libiran stated that the policy only takes effect under Alert Level 3 or higher.

Meanwhile, the following cities and provinces will shift or remain under Alert Level 3 beginning February 1:

Cordillera Administrative Region

  • Abra
  • Apayao
  • Baguio City
  • Benguet
  • Kalinga
  • Mountain Province

Region I

  • Dagupan City
  • Ilocos Norte
  • Ilocos Sur
  • La Union
  • Pangasinan

Region II

  • Santiago
  • Cagayan
  • Isabela
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Quirino

Region III

  • Angeles City
  • Aurora
  • Bataan
  • Nueva Ecija
  • Olongapo City
  • Pampanga
  • Tarlac
  • Zambales

Region 1V-A

  • Batangas
  • Laguna
  • Lucena City
  • Quezon Province

Region IV-B

  • Marinduque
  • Romblon
  • Occidental Mindoro
  • Oriental Mindoro
  • Puerto Princesa City

Region V

  • Albay
  • Camarines Norte
  • Camarines Sur
  • Catanduanes
  • Masbate
  • Naga City
  • Sorsogon

Region VI

  • Aklan
  • Antique
  • Bacolod City
  • Capiz
  • Iloilo City
  • Iloilo
  • Negros Occidental
  • Guimaras

Region VII

  • Cebu City
  • Lapu-Lapu City
  • Mandaue City
  • Bohol
  • Cebu
  • Negros Oriental
  • Siquijor

Region VIII

  • Ormoc City
  • Tacloban City
  • Eastern Samar
  • Leyte
  • Northern Samar
  • Western Samar

Region IX

  • City of Isabela
  • Zamboanga City
  • Zamboanga Del Sur
  • Zamboanga del Norte
  • Zamboanga Sibugay

Region X

  • Bukidnon
  • Cagayan de Oro City
  • Iligan City
  • Lanao del Norte
  • Misamis Occidental
  • Misamis Oriental

Region XI

  • Davao City
  • Davao Del Sur
  • Davao Del Norte
  • Davao Oriental
  • Davao de Oro

Region XII

  • General Santos City
  • North Cotabato
  • Sarangani
  • South Cotabato
  • Sultan Kudarat

Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao

  • Maguindanao
  • Cotabato City
  • Lanao Del Sur

Intrazonal and interzonal travel are allowed under Alert Levels 2 and 3, subject to restrictions as determined by local government units (LGUs). We advise motorists to check with their LGUs for more information about travel restrictions for their specific city or province.

Latest News

View More Articles

Popular Articles