William Hand marks final victory in the season finale of the 2015 NDRC

After months of waiting, the 4th and final leg of the 2015 National Drag Racing Championship (NDRC) Northern Series finally commenced last November 28 at the Clark International Speedway (CIS).

This was made extra special as veteran racers William Hand and teammate John Rizya announced their retirement from the sport at the age of 72 and 75 respectively.

Originally scheduled last May 30, 2015, the season finale was put on hold due to technical issues surrounding the track’s timing system. It was then pushed back another 6 months to avoid the monsoon season.

After many heats in Quick 8 Class, Hand finally went on to face Jonathan Tiu and his Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution VIII in the final heat. For his final performance, Hand made sure to leave a lasting mark with his 1932 “Blue Haze” Ford Roadster.

When the lights went green, Hand took the lead well into the finish line. But the timing device showed that Tiu won the race. The issue was later sorted out by Race Director Phil Guilfin and his team of stewards who awarded Hand with the win. This earned him the Quick 8 championship title. Tiu landed in 2nd place ahead of teammate Jonathan Young in 2nd.

But the battle wasn’t over yet for Hand and Tiu as they found themselves side-by-side again in the Super Pro Class. This time however, Tiu fought back with 2 victories out of 3 heats over Hand, earning him the top spot as well as the class title.

Down in Pro Class, John Rizya’s momentous final race was short-lived as his 1967 Chevrolet “Thunder” Camaro failed to make it into the final run. This handed Arvin Jay Millet the top spot. Behind him were Castillo Bernabe and Jojie Benedicto in 2nd and 3rd place, respectively.

Not contented with just a single class victory, Arvin Jay Millet then went on to claim the Expert Class championship title ahead of Angelo Chua in 2nd place and Chris Jason Millet in 3rd.

Moving down in Sportsman Class, Jannery Millet took home 1st ahead of Robbie Francisco who broke out from his dial-in time. Arvin Don Villalobos wrapped up the field in 3rd place. Lastly in Hot Street Class, Paul Michael Galban went atop the podium to claim 1st place victory over Harly Calubiran in 2nd and Alfred Cayas in 3rd.

The 2015 National Drag Racing Championship is sanctioned by the Automobile Association Philippines (AAP) and sponsored by M&H Tires, Sparco, GT Radial, and Aguila Auto Glass.

Latest News

View More Articles

Popular Articles