MMDA to implement no-window number coding scheme until 8 p.m.

UPDATE: Effective November 1, the Metro Manila Council (MMC) has approved the extension of the number coding scheme – without window hours – until 8:00 p.m.

According to a report by GMA news, MMDA chairman Thomas Orbos said that the traffic volume reduction scheme will be from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. The MMC, which includes 17 mayors in Metro Manila and the policy-making body of the MMDA, unanimously agreed to this decision.

Orbos also said that the MMC decided to include Alabang-Zapote Road and Roxas Boulevard to the affected roads by the number coding scheme.

Currently, the areas that are under the regulation are: EDSA, C-5 Road (from SLEX up to the intersection of Commonwealth Avenue and Luzon Flyover), Roxas Boulevard, Alabang-Zapote Road, Mandaluyong City, Makati City, and Las Pinas City.

On November 1, these major roads will be under the new scheme:

  • C1: CM Recto Avenue
  • C2: Pres. Quirino Avenue
  • C3: Araneta Avenue
  • C4: EDSA
  • C5: C.P. Garcia Avenue
  • C6: Bulacan-Rizal-Manila-Cavite Regional Expressway
  • R1: Roxas Blvd.
  • R2: Taft Avenue
  • R3: SLEX
  • R4: Shaw Blvd.
  • R5: Ortigas Avenue
  • R6: Magsaysay Blvd./Aurora Blvd.
  • R7: Quezon Avenue/Commonweath Avenue
  • R8: A. Bonifacio Avenue
  • R9: Rizal Avenue
  • R10: Del Pan/Marcos Highway/MacArthur Highway

Areas that are not mentioned will still have a window hour from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m., wherein motorists can use vehicles that are affected by the number coding scheme.

Just to reiterate, under the traffic volume reduction scheme, vehicles with license plates that end in 1 and 2 are not allowed to go out on Mondays; 3,4 on Tuesdays; 5,6 on Wednesdays; 7,8 on Thursdays; and 9,0 on Fridays.

Latest News

View More Articles

Popular Articles