Number Coding Scheme 2022

Due to the added volume of traffic as things go back to normal from pre-lockdown levels, the MMDA is reimplementing the full number coding scheme by August 15, 2022, to combat rising traffic congestion in the metro. 

The Unified Vehicular Volume Reduction Program, however, has been in effect already, however, with only the 5:00 PM to 8:00 PM time slots being taken up. This has been in effect since November 2021, but the Modified Number Coding Scheme will now make way for the standard scheme which is to be implemented from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM in addition to the 5:00 PM to 8:00 PM coding hours.  

Essentially, motorists whose ending number plates correspond to the specific day of the week must be off the road between 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM and 5:00 PM to 8:00 PM. In short, the morning rush hour will now be affected by the number coding scheme in addition to the evening rush hour which we have been experiencing for about a year now. 

Judging by the announcement, it also appears that the MMDA will also grant window hours for motorists to use major roads like EDSA and other thoroughfares. That means that from 10:01 AM to 4:59 PM, motorists whose cars are number coded will be able to use these roads. 

If you are caught out on the road with a coded car for that day during the non-window hours, be prepared to be issued a ticket amounting to P300. 

All the major roads will include Radial Roads and Circumferential Roads in Metro Manila, as well as other major thoroughfares. You can see them here listed below. 

Radial Roads:

  • R-1 Road (Bonifacio Drive to Roxas Boulevard)
  • R-2 Road (Taft Avenue in Manila to Diego Cera Avenue in Las Piñas)
  • R-3 Road (the stretch of Osmeña Highway from the corner of Quirino Avenue to Nichols Interchange)
  • R-4 Road (Pasig Line Street, Kalayaan Avenue, Elizco Road)
  • R-5 Road (V. Mapa Street, P. Sanchez Street, Shaw Boulevard, Pasig Boulevard, Ortigas Avenue Extension)
  • R-6 Road (Legarda Street, Magsaysay Boulevard, Aurora Boulevard, Marcos Highway)
  • R-7 Road (Lerma Avenue, España Boulevard, Elliptical Road, Commonwealth Avenue, Quirino Highway)
  • R-8 Road (Quezon Boulevard, Alfonso Mendoza Street, Dimasalang Street, Bonifacio Avenue up to EDSA-Balintawak Interchange)
  • R-9 Road (Rizal Avenue, MacArthur Highway to Valenzuela-Meycauayan Bridge)
  • R-10 Road (from Anda Circle to C-4 Road in Navotas)

Circumferential Roads: 

  • C-1 Road (Recto Avenue, Pedro Casal Street, Ayala Boulevard, Finance Drive, Padre Burgos Avenue)
  • C-2 Road (Capulong Street, Tayuman Street, Lacson Avenue, Quirino Avenue)
  • C-3 Road (C-3 Road Navotas, 5th Avenue, Sergeant E. Rivera Avenue, Gregorio Araneta Avenue, [upcoming] Metro Manila Skybridge, South Avenue, Ayala Avenue Extension, Gil Puyat Avenue)
  • C-4 Road (C-4 Road in Malabon, Paterio Aquino Avenue, Samson Road, EDSA)
  • C-5 Road (Mindanao Avenue Congressional Avenue, Luzon Avenue, Tandang Sora Avenue, Katipunan Avenue, Bonny Serrano Avenue, E. Rodriguez Jr. Carlos P. Garcia Avenue)
  • C-6 Road (from Napindan, Pasig to Lower Bicutan, Taguig)

Other major thoroughfares:

  • Alabang-Zapote Road
  • A. Mabini Street
  • Marcos Highway
  • McArthur Highway

As for implementation by other local government units and cities, it would be best to wait for formal announcements or keep updated with appropriate channels. 

Latest News

View More Articles

Popular Articles